Josh T. Pearson #2 - Xmas EP

Josh T. Pearson's album 'Last of the Country Gentlemen' was voted 2011 Album of the Year by the wonderful Rough Trade at the end of last month (slightly more acclaim than the second place I gave it!), to celebrate Josh donated a bonus EP of Christmas songs and wrote a rather rambling message which you can order / read here.

One of the tracks, "O Holy Night" has been made available as a free download, presumably as a seasonal gesture of goodwill, do take advantage of that because it is a quite, quite stunning version. Perhaps not the version you'll hear in church coffee mornings this week but the stark, drawn out rendition of the classic hymn sees Josh stamp his signature sounds throughout, darker and haunted with Josh's painstaking emotional vocals and incredible guitar-work guiding you through eight beautiful minutes.

The whole five track EP runs at 28 minutes in length and includes sprawling acoustic version of "Silent Night", "O Little Town of Bethlehem" as well - it comes highly recommended, as of course does the album.

Josh T. Pearson - O Holy Night by Mute UK